Vieux Nice’s craft shop and trendy boutiques

This historic district of Nice is where the city first began and subsequently expanded. The Vieux Nice (the Old Town) referred to by townspeople as just ‘le Vieux’, is full of life, by day and by night.

A stroll through the area reveals lively narrow streets, with tall houses sporting colourful facades. However, the charm of the Vieux Nice doesn’t just lie in its architecture and vibrant colours, but also in the range of its retail offerings. Delicatessens rub shoulders with clothes shops, interior decor stores and artists’ studios. Here, there’s a maker of traditional handmade pasta, there, one of the top wine merchants in Nice. A little further along, a master chocolate-maker with a shop window to set your mouth watering! And we shouldn’t forget all those aromatic herbs and Provençal spices that create an absolute riot of colours and aromas. Stop awhile to enjoy a tasty treat in one of the many restaurants. The Old Town also abounds in wine bars, cafés and ice-cream shops. This break will give you a wonderful chance to try out some Nice specialities, both sweet and savoury, such as Socca (chickpea flatbread), petits farcis (stuffed baked vegetables), courgette fritters, pissaladière (a pizza style dish) and swiss chard tart.

The world of fashion is very much in evidence in the shape of cutting-edge looks showcased in pretty boutiques. You’re also sure to fall under the spell of Provençal fabrics and designs in their many different shapes and forms: quilts, tablecloths, table mats, cushions etc, which may be found in local interior design shops.

It’s clear that local creatives have set up shop in an area in which they feel at home! Half-studio, half-shop, their premises beckon you inside to discover the art of book-binding, framing or simply one-off works of art, paintings and sculptures. As night falls, the Vieux Nice, rather than winding down, sets a stage for nights out to remember in its numerous lively pubs and restaurants.

Cours Saleya and the market
Cours Saleya and the market
Place du Palais de Justice
Place du Palais de Justice
Spices – a veritable kaleidoscope of colour!
Spices – a veritable kaleidoscope of colour!
Typical narrow street of the Old Town
Typical narrow street of the Old Town
Building facades in the Vieux Nice
Building facades in the Vieux Nice
Place Saint François
Place Saint François

Le Vieux-Nice et ses boutiques artisanales et trendy

La ville s’est construite et a grandi autour de ce quartier historique. Le Vieux-Nice, que les Niçois appellent plus simplement le Vieux, est plein de vie, de jour comme tard dans la nuit.

On découvre à pied ses ruelles animées, bordées de hautes maisons aux façades colorées. Le charme du Vieux-Nice repose non seulement sur son architecture et ses couleurs, mais aussi sur la diversité de son offre. Les commerces de bouche côtoient les boutiques de vêtements, de décoration et les ateliers d’artistes. Ici, une fabrique de pâtes artisanales, là une cave réputée être l’une des meilleures de Nice, plus loin un chocolatier dont la devanture met l’eau à la bouche. Sans oublier les herbes aromatiques et les épices provençales, véritables feux d’artifices de couleurs et de parfums. Prenez le temps de vous accorder une pause gourmande dans l’un des nombreux restaurants. Le Vieux-Nice est riche aussi en bars à vins, cafés et glaciers. Cette parenthèse enchantée vous permettra de goûter aux spécialités niçoises, salées et sucrées, telles que la Socca, les petits farcis, les beignets de courgettes, la pissaladière ou encore la tourte à la blette.

La mode est aussi bien présente. Une mode branchée qui se met en scène dans de jolies boutiques. Vous succomberez aussi au charme des tissus provençaux déclinés en boutis, nappes, sets de table, coussins… dans les boutiques de décoration du quartier.

Évidemment, les artistes ont élu domicile dans cet espace qui leur ressemble ! Mi-atelier mi-magasin, leurs enseignes vous invitent à découvrir l’art de la reliure, de l’encadrement… ou tout simplement des œuvres uniques, peintures et sculptures. A la tombée de la nuit, le Vieux-Nice, loin de s’endormir, se prépare à vous offrir des soirées inoubliables dans ses nombreux pubs et ses restaurants animés.

Le cours Saleya et son marché
Le cours Saleya et son marché
La place du Palais de Justice
La place du Palais de Justice
Les épices ? Un feu d'artifice de couleurs !
Les épices ? Un feu d'artifice de couleurs !
Ruelle typique du Vieux-Nice
Ruelle typique du Vieux-Nice
Les façades du Vieux-Nice
Les façades du Vieux-Nice
La place Saint François
La place Saint François